Consumer Panel of the Medicare Benefits Schedule Review Taskforce

The Consumer Panel was established in September 2016 to support the MBS Review Taskforce.

Page last updated: 27 October 2016

The Panel’s work includes:

  • Information, training and support for consumer representatives on MBS Review committees
  • Information for all committee members about effective consumer engagement >/li>
  • Tools to help consumer representatives and other committee members to include consumer perspectives in their reports
  • Providing reports and recommendations to the Taskforce about consumer perspectives on the Review and MBS reform more broadly.

Meeting dates


  • Debra Kay (Chair) – Consumer Representative
  • Rebecca James (Executive Member) - MBS Review Taskforce (Ex-Officio)
  • John Stubbs (Executive Member) - Chief Executive Officer, CanSpeak Member, Medical Services Advisory Committee Consumer Representative
  • Helen Maxwell-Wright - Consumer Representative Director, Maxwell-Wright Associates, Panel of Chairs, Monitoring Committee, Medicines Australia , Quality & Safety Committee, Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists Chair, Community Advisory Group, College of Intensive Care Medicine
  • Geraldine Robertson - Consumer Representative, Consumers Health Forum & Breast Cancer Network Australia
  • Eileen Jerga - Consumer Representative
  • Adam Friederich - Immune Deficiencies Foundation Australia Consumer representative
  • Alison Marcus - Registered Nurse Consumer Representative
  • Karen Carey - Member, NHRMC Council & Chair, Community and Consumer Advisory Group Consumer Representative
  • Professor Michael Besser - MBS Review Taskforce (Ex-Officio)

Meeting dates

  • 7 June 2016
  • 29 September 2016
  • 11 October 2016